Top 10 albums, #10: Tom Waits / Closing time

OK, at number 10 we have Tom Waits with one of his masterpieces, Closing Time, tracks:

Ol’ 55
I Hope That I Don’t Fall in Love with You
Virginia Avenue
Old Shoes (And Picture Postcards)
Midnight Lullaby
Martha
Rosie
Lonely
Ice Cream Man
Little Trip to Heaven (On the Wings of your Love)
Grapefruit Moon
Closing Time (instrumental)

So much can be said about this album. The music is superb. But even greater, the lyrics. Read the lyrics from here.

I Hope That I Don’t Fall in Love with You is such a beautiful love song. The way the last lines of the chorus changes throughout the song is so beatiful.

I remember that my dad bought the LP for himself in the first place, although I concidered the album mine. Later on I bought one too. Then I bought the CD. RIght now, it’s in the shelf along with all other Tom Waits albums. Check out Bone Machine and Swordfish Trombones too. They’re excellent.

Leave a Reply

