What's your history? Lots of cats

Read this marvelous posting called “Show me your history” and decied to check my history (and thereby do a health status check on my life). So I copied the command:

history | awk '{a[$2]++ } END{for(i in a){print a[i] " " i}}'|sort -rn|head

and ran it through a not-so-pretty-filter. All in all the commands looks like this:

history | awk ‘{a[$2]++ } END{for(i in a){print a[i] ” ” i}}’|sort -rn|head | awk ‘ {  printf ”   %s\n”, $0} ‘

So what have I been doing lately? This:

101 cd
71 ls
29 bzr
28 more
24 rm
24 make
17 cat
16 apt-cache
10 ssh
8 touch

A lot of cd is ok and pretty common I guess. That many ls?.. a bit strange.  bzr, more, rm, make feels ok. But why so many cat? Simply because cat is a great editor. I use the command cat for many things:

cat in editor mode:

cat > file.txt

cat in append editor mode:

cat >> file.txt

cat in DVD rip mode:

cat /dev/dvd > DVD-RIP.ISO

and of course the DVD is such that I am allowed to do that!

cat in printer mode:

cat | lpr -P 414

… I simply love cat. Which is rather strange considering I am allergic to cats.

Leave a Reply

