Roaring forties and bumping my own version number

A bit cryptic?   “I said Well, I guess”[1]

Somewhere in the back of my head I hear my father talk about some cryptic place on earth, presumably a place he wanted to sail to…. think he did actually, called the roaring forties. So why do I hear this in my head? Simple. I just entered the forties myself. Not the place, but the age. Yup, I just turned 40 years. 40 years… hmmm. Makes one think.

I am older than most of my students even if I switch to using HEX and they in DEC and we simply compare.

When releasing some software with a new “major” version number (e.g going from 3.2 to 4.0) you usually have tons of new features. Well, I (the person) don’t have any new features. Still I bump major version number (3.9 to 4.0).

But quite frankly I guess I don’t care about this whole age thing. I guess I never have. Much better to have fun and enjoy life (enjoy it your way, not via someone else’s expectation) than getting lost in numbers …… Sounds a bit desperate?😉

… I better go home and pick up the kids and wife and go out and eat and drink.

/h

[1] From Bob Dylan’s song Isis

Leave a Reply

